Almost Famous Manchester

This weekend I was in Manchester for my friends 22nd Birthday! We had 2 incredible nights out with meals beforehand. The first day we had got to Manchester a bit late so it was just a quick visit to Harry Ramsden’s and then we went to our hotel and got ready for our night out! The next day we went for a meal at Almost Famous! My friend, whose birthday it was, had been recommended to go here so she decided that this was the place to go before we went to an escape room experience! (Would highly recommend that by the way) Screen Shot 2017-01-24 at 20.36.28.png
So Almost Famous! A restaurant all about burgers! When we got there it was quite busy, my guess is people were eating a bit earlier like us due to the football that was on that day in the city. We were given a, I don’t really know what it was but it vibrated and flashed when your table was ready! So whilst we were waiting we had cocktails and mocktails depending on whether we felt a little bit fragile from the night before. I didn’t want to push myself knowing I had another night out to go so I had a mocktail! A little bit boring I know but it was exactly what I needed and so refreshing! The mocktail I had was the ‘Famous Cherryade’ but for cocktails I would definitely recommend the ‘Haribo Smash’. Its so sweet, tastes like liquidised Haribo’s, the glass was quite small so just enough I feel that you wouldn’t feel like it was too sickly after a while! It was a cocktail that you’d only have once in that sitting!
So finally the buzzer system went off and we got to our table! The food options looked very promising! There were a lot of beef burger options to choose from, one member of our group was vegetarian and was very limited for choice on what to have. For the rest of us no veggies we were spoilt for choice! Now I love a good chicken burger! So I went for the “Awesome Frickin’ Chicken” on the ‘Not Burgers’ section. I was a little bit confused by this as it was a chicken burger!
You had to order your chips separately so as there was 4 of us we shared 2 portions of chips between us all. We got 1 portion plain and 1 portion of ‘Winning’ fries which was meant to be a combination of skin on chips and sweet potato chips. In our portion of ‘Winning’ fries there was hardly any sweet potato chips so we were a little bit disappointed in those! But my “Awesome Frickin’ Chicken” was dirty! A proper dirty burger was a peppercorn sauce and burger van style onions in it! 16251320_10158077229300414_445146411_oIf you are looking for a nice, refreshing burger then this is not the place to go! Like I said this place produced proper dirty burgers! Where you got the sauce all down your fingers and around your mouth! In terms of taste, I was thankful for the salad in this as it did cut through the rich sauce and the spicy fried chicken.
Overall, I would rate my experience at a 6/10. Not everyone around the table felt as though it lived up to expectations. There was limited veggie options and we were disappointed on the chip front!
Everyone has different experiences when going, the atmosphere was great the food in my opinion did need a little revamp but I would go again just to try other things on the menu!

Check out this link to find out more about Almost Famous and what else is on the menu! http://www.almostfamousburgers.com/index.html

Leave a comment